Back in the United States

Well, I’m back from the land of not writing.  I know that I took over a month-long hiatus, but to be fair, I finished up working in my foreign country, spent almost 40 hours traveling, and I’ve now returned to the United States to engage in my previous life.

I thought it would be depressing, but I’ve sort of just slid back into normal life so easily, it’s like I never left.  Plus, two of my good friends from the foreign country immigrated to the US and are now staying at my house, so I kind of took my work home with me.  I suppose I couldn’t really ask for an easier transition.

Finding work back here isn’t going to be easy, because I’m trying to figure out who I am as an adult now.  It could be tempting to go back to exactly the way things were before, but it seems that there is, deep within me, something fundamentally changed from the girl I was a year ago.  It’s hard to explain, but I hope that I can use it to my advantage.

In the meantime, you may be wondering if this Year and a Day thing is ever really going to be consistent.  After all, I started it in November, it’s now July, and I’m only 38 days in.  Sure, there have been some posts I’ve done that weren’t tied with the Year and a Day theme, but on the whole, we all know that this hasn’t been exactly according to plan.

Now, I’m not trying to be over-ambitious or delusional or anything, but now that I’m home I have more ways to actually work on my Year and a Day writings.  After all, I have some Witchy resources here (more than I did in the foreign country) and I just bought Wicca: A Year and a Day: 366 Days of Spiritual Practice in the Craft of the Wise by Timothy Roderick.  If you’ve already read this particular book and come to the conclusion that it’s not the best for whatever reason, don’t worry, I’m not taking it as a Bible or anything.  Or rather, maybe I AM taking it as a Bible–and that being with a grain of salt, and ideally understanding it for what it is.

I might not use it for prompts every day, but it is going to provide me with some healthy inspiration and stuff to think on, thereby providing me with things to write about when I have absolutely no clue what I want to say.  And really, in the end, I’m just trying to learn more here for this journey.  It is my journal after all, although I’ve kind of made it a spectator sport.

I appreciate everyone who reads my blog posts, even if it’s occasionally.  I love getting comments from people too, because interacting with the community makes it feel a bit less like a shout into the void.

I hope you’re all having an amazing summer.

Blessed be!

)O(

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

