Year and a Day Journal #32: April 15th, 2016

Well, despite my hope that my next post would be the very important one that I want to write, I haven’t been able to get my thoughts together on that quite yet.  I’m sure it will come soon, but in the meantime, here’s another regular journal.

Today I’m making my own prompt, which is inspired by my boyfriend because his birthday is around this time, and I’ve been really thinking about him a lot.  The last time I saw him in person was last summer, before I moved to this country, so it’s been a very long time now.  By the time I get back, it will have been almost a year since I saw him last.

So, thinking on my boyfriend, I would say that this prompt is as follows–How are magick and love related in your life?  Is there a place for magick in sex?  

Firstly, let me say that obviously magick in your love life is going to depend on your partner’s outlook on Witchcraft.  When my boyfriend and I started dating, I was, for all intents and purposes, a Christian.  By the time I started looking into Witchcraft, we had already been dating for three years.  With these kinds of situations, it can be a blessing and a curse.  On one hand, if you’ve been together for so long and through so much, there is every chance that your relationship will be strong enough and your partner will love you so much that it doesn’t really matter what your spiritual path is.  After all, religion is only one aspect of the whole person that is you.  However, spirituality is also intrinsically tied with your beliefs and the things that make you who you are, and if you pull a 180 on your partner, that can severely damage your connection.  They might see your new beliefs as conflicting with their own, or they might even think you’ve changed from the person they fell in love with initially.

For example, my boyfriend was raised pretty fundamentalist Christian, and his mom is likewise pretty conservative.  However, my boyfriend himself has been questioning organized religion recently, and while I think he does still believe in the Christian God, he’s a bit more open to considering religion in new ways.  This is beneficial to me, of course, because while he doesn’t really understand exactly what this path means to me (and how could he really, from thousands of miles away?), he understands that it’s important for me to investigate my beliefs.  We just won’t tell his (or my) mom yet.

In any case, magick can of course be involved in your love life.  Maybe your partner gets involved in your rituals, or maybe they don’t because it’s not their path, and that’s okay.  Maybe someday you want a handfasting instead of a church marriage.

Maybe you like to work with the sexual energy that you and your partner have.  As long as everything is consensual and your partner is okay with you using magick or working with energy in the bedroom, then there is no reason that you can’t bring Witchcraft into your love life.  It’s up to you and your partner to decide how you would like to use magick in the bedroom.  Perhaps you just want to spice things up, or maybe you’re looking to enhance fertility (again, consent is mandatory here).  Really, the possibilities are endless.

I can’t say that I can give a lot of advice in this department.  One, this is a Novice Witch blog, so I don’t have a lot of experience in general.  Two, my only romantic and sexual partner is thousands of miles away, so I haven’t had the opportunity to experience magick in my romance.

If you’re looking to incorporate magick into your love life, I recommend scouring some metaphysical bookshops to find works that discuss this facet of Witchcraft.  You can also get involved in Beltane stuff, which will be coming up soon, since it’s a holiday of fertility.

As long as everything is safe, consensual, and based on trust, you shouldn’t be afraid to get a little adventurous!

 

Blessed be!

)O(

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

