Year and a Day Journal #28: March 16th, 2016

Tomorrow is St. Patrick’s Day, and while I’m not Irish and I don’t pretend to know much about St. Patrick, I can certainly appreciate a holiday where we talk about little green fairies who hide gold at the ends of rainbows and vanish if you look away.  I was just looking into studying faery lore a bit, because I do realize that some Witches work with the fae.  I don’t yet, and I would guess it’s because, even as a kid, I didn’t really believe in fairies much (somewhere, a fairy just dropped dead).  They just weren’t a big part of my life.  That being said, I’m definitely interested in getting a bit more information about the fae.  The country that I live in now does believe in domestic magickal creatures (even the common person believes that there is a little spirit that guards the house and sometimes gets into a little harmless trouble).  Despite being a pretty religious Christian country, its pagan roots often shine through (and I secretly love it).  Anyway, I enjoyed getting the chance to have my kids do a leprechaun hunt today.  They hid parts of leprechauns all over the school and made instructions on how to find them, and then gave the instructions to another team.  My kids searched all around the school, counting out their steps, searching behind curtains and in plants, and finally each team assembled their whole leprechaun.  It was pretty fun, and even though they were teens, they loved it (and it can be really hard sometimes to get teens to enjoy anything).

But back to the topic for the day.  Today it is Discuss Goal of the Witch #12: Meditate. 

This one should be easy, and certainly self-explanatory.  But anyone who lives in this bustling world knows that sometimes, the hardest thing to do during the day is to sit down and take time to yourself.  And I don’t mean time to yourself where you’re aimlessly scrolling through Pinterest, because I can do that for an hour and not realize how much time has gone by.  I mean really sitting somewhere and just being present.  That task is not an easy one.

My relationship with meditation really only started a couple years ago.  I was on a trip to the Caribbean with a literature course from my college, and one of the girls on the trip was a pretty avid yogi.  I, at the time, was not a yogi, but I liked dancing and I was pretty flexible, so I asked her if she would like to do some yoga together (I thought it was mostly just exercise and stretching with some breathing thrown in).  As misguided as I was, I’m so glad that I asked her, because she ended up leading sunrise and sunset yoga for all of us for the first few days of the class.  In Barbados.  On the beach.  (You don’t have to like yoga to see that that was a pretty sweet deal.)  Someday I have to tell this girl how grateful I am for introducing me to yoga, because she started this whole journey for me of actually paying attention to spirituality and how I interact with the world around me.  If I hadn’t gotten into yoga, I wouldn’t have noticed how I felt about nature, about the spirit in everything, and about the fire in myself.

I’m not going to lie, I’ve never been great at meditating–not now, not then, and no time in-between.  But the fact is that I’m aware of it, and I like it when I do it, and I want to do it more.  I see that it really is essential in the life I want to lead, and when I started researching Witchcraft, I was so glad to see it was a crucial part of this path.  In fact, I’m happy about basically all of the Goals.  I think they’re more relatable and more elegant than the Ten Commandments, to be honest.  I mean, in the Ten Commandments, God really had to spell out not to kill other people, not to steal your neighbor’s wife…it took several Commandments to say what the Wiccan Rede says in one line: “An’ ye harm none, do what ye will.”  And the Commandments didn’t even get the second part of the line in there, because they certainly don’t advocate for you doing what you will.

But anyway, I’m getting ahead of myself.  What I’m trying to say is that meditation is not easy, but I really believe it is a necessary foundation of a good practice for any faith, especially one that asks you to have awareness.  I just finished college and I know, I know, how hard it is to convince yourself to take time to just sit and be.  It feels like a waste, and some of my classmates would say that it is.  Why take time to sit when you could be doing this or this or this?  It seems like sleeping, only more pointless.

I would say, when we meditate we finally get to understand just a little bit of the world around us.  When we meditate, we start to actually wake up.

I just wish it was on a beach in Barbados.

 

Blessed be, everyone, and have a happy and safe St. Patrick’s Day.

 

)O(

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

