Year and a Day Journal #15: January 29th, 2016

I spent some time today searching around for good “year and a day” journal prompts, but, to be honest, I didn’t really find a lot of good sites, and also, (SURPRISE!) aspiring Witches are not the only ones coming up with writing ideas for the pretty popular length of 365 or 366 days.  So the search was not entirely fruitful today.  I did come across some more interesting Pagan information on my search, as one might expect, but it wasn’t exactly what I was looking for.  For example, there’s even a book called Wicca: A Year and a Day on Amazon, and I thought about buying the Kindle version, but there’s only like $13.75 left on my gift card, and the book was a little over $14, and that seems ridiculous but it is a real obstacle when you are on a tight budget.  Plus, I didn’t know if I could justify buying more books when I’m struggling to read the ones I’ve got.  I also promised my foreign friend here that I would read a very famous book by one of the authors of this country, and I said I’d do that by March, so that’s not looking good.  I’m on like, page four of that.  And I’m trying to learn this country’s language on top of that, which requires some time and effort.

Maybe I’ll do all these things on the weekend.  Except I’ve been invited to a birthday party and nobody parties like the people of this country, so I’m expecting Sunday to be a bust.

Anyway, I guess that I ought to get to the actual journal part of this post.  So, another question that I’m just making up as I go: What do you picture when you think of a Witch?

I think this question is really important for me, which is why I’m addressing it.  As I said in my “If I Went to Hogwarts” post, the desire to be a Witch for me has sometimes been confused with the wish to be a witch, as in like, Hermione Granger.  Who doesn’t want to be able to levitate things, mix up magical potions, or fly?

The thing is, though, that even if I wish I had Hermione’s magical powers, the thing that’s really drawn me to Witchcraft is the back-to-roots feeling of it–turning back to the Earth, being reverent of all life and all things that contribute to this Universe, using natural methods and empowering oneself to make change, instead of waiting around for an unseen God.  When I first started getting seriously interested in Witchcraft, I simply searched that term on Pinterest and what came up was a lot of Bohemian-vibe women who looked like they 1) couldn’t care less about what other people thought, and 2) were experiencing something so universal that it could and should be shared by everybody, if only we’d take a moment to pay attention.

I remember one pin that I really liked–it pictured an elderly woman, sitting in natural-looking, earth-tone clothes, wearing a babushka-style scarf, sewing an herb wreath, surrounded by other drying herbs, and it said in bold white letters, BLESSED BE THE MAGICK OF THE KITCHEN WITCH.

I love that.  I think that it’s amazing how traditions have been passed down, how many of the ancient cultures honored magick, and how that’s survived even to this day.  Not every old lady is the uptight pearl-wearing grandma who always sits in the back pew of the church service so she can start making her way out after Communion (I mean, my grandparents weren’t like that either for the most part, but I’m just making an illustration here).  Some people still believe in the profound joy and reassurance found in nature, and some people want to surround themselves with the old ways.

That’s why my tagline for this blog is “journeying on a new old path,” because this path is new to me, but really it’s got so much heritage.  Of course, there’s nothing wrong with adding new touches to the old ways.  If you prefer to wear all black instead of the natural fibers of the bohemian look, that’s pretty badass and I’m with you on that.  I love the different styles Witches have–since they’re all unique–but there’s just some mysterious thread that runs through all of them.  Like they could all sit in a circle in the woods and not even say anything, except this silent secret and everyone’s answer is, “I know.”

I think it’s important to find your own path with Witchcraft, which is what I endeavor to do.  And certainly it’s not just the image of the Witch that keeps me going, but when I think of who I want to be, I hope I fall somewhere in that ballpark.

 

)O(

Blessed be!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

