Year and a Day Journal #13: November 13, 2015

I found out today that the Year and a Day Journal group on Facebook will be disbanded, meaning that these prompts will have to be generated by me, myself and I.  Goody.  Now I can be as introspective as I want (*sarcasm*).

On the flip side, there’s nothing wrong with that.  I know there are hundreds of facets of Paganism to address, and I’m sure I’ll be able to do it as the year goes on.  I’m over a month and a half behind, but I’m getting there, slowly.

Anyway, there are still some provided prompts, so I’m going for it.

Today’s!  What are the basic principles of the element earth based on research?

To that I say, Um….I don’t know?  I’m not even sure what exactly this question is asking.  If the question is how much do I know about geology, it’s like…not much.  I spelled “galena” correctly in the middle school spelling bee, but other than that, I’m pretty hopeless.

Maybe a better question would be, What do I feel when I interact with the earth?  But that question was kind of already being addressed in the Day 12 prompt.

Maybe I’ll ask myself instead, Why is the earth characterized the way that it is?  I feel like this is a relevant question for having just passed the solstice.  Why is the earth pictured as a female?  Why does she give birth to the sun?  Why didn’t the patriarchy grab up this opportunity to be represented by literally one of the most precious things we have?

I’m sure, no matter where this idea originated, ancient peoples recognized the cycles that the earth goes through, and they thought of it much like they thought of the cycles of the moon–that these cycles seem to be representative of the cycles of women’s bodies.  Plants start out tiny and young, become fertile and sometimes even pregnant with fruit, and then eventually become old and die.  This, just as the moon, seems to echo the triple aspect of the Goddess, in the Maiden, Mother, and Crone.

I’m sure there are a lot more reasons why the Earth is represented as it is, but I am too tired to answer a research question tonight.

Happy New Year, everyone.  Perhaps I’ll talk about my resolutions in my next post.

 

)O(

Leave a Reply

