Year and a Day Journal #8: November 8th, 2015

I’ve fallen a bit behind, but this is a process, and this is more introspective work in writing than I’ve done in a long time.  PROGRESS.

Anyway, the prompt for today, I think, is not so easily answerable for me, but easily answered by many a Pagan that has come before me.  The prompt is as follows: How would you define magick?  Do you have a specific magickal practice?  (A type of shamanism like druidry?  Voodoo/Hoodoo?  Chaos magick?  Etc…)

I think in order to answer this, I’ll just briefly explain how I stumbled into magick and Witchcraft.  I was chilling out on Pinterest in my room in college when I somehow came across this video.  (For those of you who don’t want to click the link, it is a YouTube video by cutewitch772, “Sh*t People Say to: Pagans, Neopagans, Wiccans, Witches, Etc.”)  It actually wasn’t the first time that I had watched it, but this time I really watched it.  I had had Wicca on the mental radar since my first boyfriend had talked about his interest in it, but at the time I was in my very Catholic phase and I was entirely skeptical on the idea of magick.  I was basically that girl who was saying, “You know Harry Potter isn’t real, right?”  How could somebody light a green candle and money would just come to them?  Why would anybody think that would work?

But I watched the video again.  Here was an intelligent-looking person, not much older than me, clearly college-educated (judging by the dorm room), talking about magick, Witches, and doing it all with a pretty awesome sense of humor.  I went to her YouTube channel and started watching her other videos.  I went to Pinterest and started searching terms like “witchcraft” and “witch” and “wicca”.  Having been pissed off with Christianity for awhile, I realized that I was not as nervous to learn about this other stuff as I had been in the past.

When I came to cutewitch772‘s video called “What is Magick?” and subsequently her video called “Coincidences and Magic(k),” I realized that it was actually plausible for humans to truly believe in magick, and, what was more, it could actually be plausible for me to believe in magick–because what she was saying in those videos was kind of making sense.  Besides, I had never really felt empowered by being a Christian, and thinking about Witchcraft made me realize that I actually could have an impact on the world.

Of course, those were only the first few things that I saw related to magick (as one should always have more than one source, I have done lots of reading and blog-searching since then, of various authors), but I find that I still agree with the views on magick that cutewitch772 presents in her videos.  Magick is everywhere, in everything, and happening all the time, in ways that people might consider coincidence.  We can tap into that magick and it can have real results.  No, you’re not going to be able to bewitch a broomstick to fly (don’t we all wish though???), but some real things can happen when you apply your energy to an intention.

For now, none of my spells are more than a little thing here and a little thing there.  My biggest (and most successful) spell by far has been when I got pretty horribly sick only a couple weeks into being in this foreign country, and I decided to make a healing soup on the night of the full moon.  I made it with just all of the regular things–potatoes, carrots, mushrooms, all vegan things–and then added herbs, which I had set my intention into.  I stirred the pot in the deosil direction (clockwise, to bring energy in.  I think.) and I had my “magick” candle lit the whole time, and I lit the gas stove off that magick candle.  Honestly, I didn’t write anything down before I went into it, I just did what I felt was right as I went along.

I didn’t feel better the next day, but that night I finished the rest of the soup (maybe I had to finish it to complete the spell), and the day after that, at work, I felt like a new person.  I felt pretty confident that it had been my own work that had made me feel better.

When I told my roommate (who is atheist but has a psychic for a mother), he asked, “Are you sure it wasn’t just a coincidence, or a mental thing, or the passing of time?”

At the moment, I said, “Yeah, I guess, I don’t know.  Why would you ask me that; you know I’m already not sure!” but now, I feel like I would want to just turn to him and say, “Yeah, probably.  But isn’t that kind of what magick is?”

)O(

Thank you to cutewitch772 for all of her help and support!

Leave a Reply

