Year and a Day Journal #6: November 6th, 2015

Today’s prompt makes me want to crawl into a hole.

Based on all the history in which you have written, how would you define paganism? How do you define paganism according to your path?

Man, I don’t know.  That’s a crazy-hard question.

I’ve seen paganism defined in like, twenty different ways.  I’ve seen it defined as every religion that’s not monotheistic.  I’ve seen it defined as everything but the core three–Christianity, Judaism, and Islam.  I’ve seen it defined as nature-based religion, or anything polytheistic, or…yeah, the list goes on.

It would be foolish of me to say that I have any idea what paganism really is.  There have been thousands of years of pagans before me, and their religion was sometimes literally all they had.  Me, I’m just a young woman sitting on a mattress in an apartment in a foreign country, ticking away on her laptop about my ideas on the world and hoping that somebody might read them soon.  Religion is like my luxury, something I still want to convince myself I can live without.

I think Neo-paganism might be a little bit easier to talk about….  It’s like paganism, but a modern revival, I suppose?  Okay, yeah, I have no idea what the heck I’m talking about.

I guess for me, paganism is what I’ve seen in the community, what I’ve noticed on some social media.  It’s people coming together to help each other live various religious paths but with the common umbrella of paganism.  It’s people loving nature and taking responsibility for their own actions.  It’s people believing in themselves and in the world around them.

Well, that came out pretty sappy.  But it’s still kind of true.  I haven’t had the opportunity to be to a lot of pagan events, well, like, ever, but I did go to a pagan-run brewery in my home state once.  It was such an accepting community, and even though I was nervous that my family would hate it, I brought them (they probably had no clue I was also interested in the ideology of the people).  They loved how open it was, actually (it gives me hope that someday I can have an honest conversation with my family about this aspect of my life).

So, okay, I don’t know exactly what paganism is.  But I’m trying to find out, piece by piece.

 

)O(

Leave a Reply

