Year and a Day Journal #3: November 3rd, 2015

Two in one day!  Let’s go.

The prompt for the 3rd of November: Where does your path originate? What is its history? Is it based on ancient tradition or is it completely original to you?

I am obviously still in the stages of not knowing what in the heck I am doing, so I don’t know how well I can answer this question.  I guess I’ll just kind of describe what I’m looking into right now.  I like the path of the solitary Witch, like I’m some woman living in the forest, drying my herbs and casting small spells to keep my family safe.  This sort of thing appeals to me a more than being in a big coven.  That being said, I’m also a very social person, and I think that if I found a place in the Pagan community in my town, I’d be pretty happy to go to events or meet lots of people with similar ideas.  That being said, I think the path of the solitary Witch is just about as traditional and widespread as you can get.  Tons of cultures have the idea of the little old lady who lives alone in the woods.  She might be wise or she might be creepy and eat children, but she exists.

Because I’m interested in following the Wheel of the Year the way that many Neo-Pagans accept it (Samhain, Yule, Imbolc, Ostara, Beltane, Litha, Lughnasadh/Lammas, and Mabon), my path has a lot of its foundations in Celtic traditions.  These festivals are often still celebrated in parts of Great Britain, despite them being ancient holidays.  The names are certainly derived from old Celtic festivals and words.  That being said, obviously I am also used to traditions that come from Italy (Roman Catholicism), as well as ideas from various other cultures, especially the culture in which I am living now (since I’m living and teaching abroad at the moment).  I have experience with Norwegian, Russian, and Mexican traditions, even if only in small amounts.  So, perhaps the best way to describe my potential path is that it is an original one, but the components are all based on various cultures that have their roots in ancient times.

I hope that as the year moves on, I will have some clearer idea of what I want to do.  Or maybe not.  I’m learning!

)O(

Leave a Reply

