A Fresh Start

Hello.  I’m Chloe.

Well, sort of.

cropped-20141015_142401.jpg

Changing like the seasons do, except I don’t know which season I’m in and I don’t know what’s coming next.

I guess, in many ways, I don’t know who I am.  In the words of one of my favorite literary heroines, “I’m afraid I can’t explain myself…. Because I’m not myself, you see?”  I am different today than I was yesterday, and yesterday I was much different from a year ago.  For example, a year ago, I considered myself a (very, very) flawed Catholic.  I was a student in college.  I was living in a communal house with several other people, and I probably defined myself by the extracurricular activities I participated in.  Compared to last year, my life is pretty unrecognizable.

The good news is, for the most part I’m not afraid of change.  (I say “for the most part” because sometimes change scares the crap out of me.)  I’m inclined enough to accept change that, after college, I picked up my entire life and moved to a foreign country.  I speak the country’s language on a minimal level, but I have a job teaching English, so at least I fulfill my job requirements.  I don’t anticipate staying here forever, either–probably just a year.  So then I’ll pick everything up and move back to the United States, and so there’s even more change coming ahead.  It’s a strange feeling, actually, because I’m the kind of person who makes friends for the long haul, and coming here I’m very aware that I will be leaving in a relatively short time–but not a short enough time not to bother making friends.  It’s a little conflicting at times, but I’m making do.

While I’m here in said foreign country, I’m living with a roommate from the UK.  He’s an interesting fellow, and we don’t always understand each other.  Thankfully he doesn’t really judge my inquiry down this path (at least, he doesn’t seem to).  And you’re probably thinking, what exactly is this path?

The answer is, I don’t know.  I was hoping somebody could tell me.

I’ve had a weird life, religiously.  I won’t go into it now–it’s a lot to read, and it will probably go into a second post.  But for the first seventeen years of my life, I was Catholic.  Then I was atheist.  And then I realized that the universe is something incredible, and that sometimes I want to use my own self to alter the things around me, instead of relying on God or somebody else to do all the work.

So I started looking on Pinterest and I realized that there were crazy amounts of pins (and subsequent links) and information out there on witchcraft and Wicca.  And while I don’t identify as Wiccan (yet?  I don’t know), I think witchcraft might be something worth doing.

I haven’t been studying very long–I’ve been working with meditation and yoga for almost two years, but only started researching witchcraft specifically for less than one year.  I’m really looking forward to learning more about it, and starting to work with it, so I wanted to start a blog (this is not my first blog.  I might have a problem).

As you probably can guess though, I’m in the “broom closet.”  Only a few people close to me know anything about it.  And, for that reason, I’m Chloe.  Because I’m not really Chloe Verena Eastey, but I am here and now.

So I think that’s where I’ll start.  I have a lot to say, and a lot to learn.  I’m really glad to start this journey.

)O(

Blessed be.

[By the way, the quote at the beginning is from Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll, in case you have been living under a rock.]

Leave a Reply

